?

Can't find what you're looking for?

This topic might exist in our archive - Try Here

Author Topic: Masque Question?  (Read 3115 times)

Offline Chicop76

  • Shas'El
  • *******
  • Posts: 3532
  • Karma 12
  • pp
    • View Profile
Masque Question?
« on: June 10, 2013, 10:14:02 PM »
1. If a MC run can it be in any direction?

Now to the Masque question.

2. The Masque can slow down movement to d3. I was thinking how would this effect flying MCs and flyers. If they can only move d3 would they still be able to zoom or swoop. If not I might take her as my anti-ari so I will be now be able to assault flyers and MCs.

 

Offline Waaaghpower

  • Shas'Vre
  • ******
  • Posts: 1340
  • Karma 2
    • View Profile
Re: Masque Question?
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2013, 10:27:04 PM »
If you cast it on a FMC, it'll be slowed down and have to move normally instead of zooming. If it doesn't roll to hit, though, you can't hit them WHILE they are zooming. (Same applies to fliers.)
As for the running thing, they can turn all they want when running and run in any direction.
Super Mario 3D World is The. Best. Thing.

Offline Chicop76

  • Shas'El
  • *******
  • Posts: 3532
  • Karma 12
  • pp
    • View Profile
Re: Masque Question?
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2013, 10:35:21 PM »
It doesn't work on vehicles, but it will auto hit flying MC's.

 

Offline Waaaghpower

  • Shas'Vre
  • ******
  • Posts: 1340
  • Karma 2
    • View Profile
Re: Masque Question?
« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2013, 11:02:05 PM »
It doesn't work on vehicles, but it will auto hit flying MC's.
Did they FAQ it or does it have a special rule? Because last I checked, things that don't roll to hit can't hit flying monstrous creatures. I presume this includes the Masque.
Super Mario 3D World is The. Best. Thing.

Offline Chicop76

  • Shas'El
  • *******
  • Posts: 3532
  • Karma 12
  • pp
    • View Profile
Re: Masque Question?
« Reply #4 on: June 11, 2013, 12:58:29 AM »
It doesn't work on vehicles, but it will auto hit flying MC's.
Did they FAQ it or does it have a special rule? Because last I checked, things that don't roll to hit can't hit flying monstrous creatures. I presume this includes the Masque.

Last I check what the Masque do is differant. They said aurea, beams, etc.

 

Offline Waaaghpower

  • Shas'Vre
  • ******
  • Posts: 1340
  • Karma 2
    • View Profile
Re: Masque Question?
« Reply #5 on: June 11, 2013, 01:19:09 AM »
It doesn't work on vehicles, but it will auto hit flying MC's.
Did they FAQ it or does it have a special rule? Because last I checked, things that don't roll to hit can't hit flying monstrous creatures. I presume this includes the Masque.

Last I check what the Masque do is differant. They said aurea, beams, etc.
It says things that don't roll to hit, beams and auras are only used as examples.
Super Mario 3D World is The. Best. Thing.

Offline Chicop76

  • Shas'El
  • *******
  • Posts: 3532
  • Karma 12
  • pp
    • View Profile
Re: Masque Question?
« Reply #6 on: June 11, 2013, 03:56:36 AM »
It doesn't work on vehicles, but it will auto hit flying MC's.
Did they FAQ it or does it have a special rule? Because last I checked, things that don't roll to hit can't hit flying monstrous creatures. I presume this includes the Masque.

Last I check what the Masque do is differant. They said aurea, beams, etc.
It says things that don't roll to hit, beams and auras are only used as examples.

Can you qoute it. It sounds like opinion more than fact. Not saying you are wrong. Just rather it was quoted or at least where it's at in the 10 pages of FAQ I read 3 hours ago.

 

Offline Waaaghpower

  • Shas'Vre
  • ******
  • Posts: 1340
  • Karma 2
    • View Profile
Re: Masque Question?
« Reply #7 on: June 11, 2013, 04:49:40 AM »
I don't have my rulebook with me, but it is under the section about zooming monstrous creatures or fliers in the BRB
Super Mario 3D World is The. Best. Thing.

Offline DEF Knight

  • Shas'Saal
  • ***
  • Posts: 157
  • Karma 2
    • View Profile
    • Online Portfolio
Re: Masque Question?
« Reply #8 on: June 12, 2013, 03:54:25 AM »
"Shots resolved at such a target can only be resolved as Snap Shots unless the model or weapon has Skyfire special rule. Template, Blast, and Large Blast weapons cannot hit Swooping models."

Of note Snap Shots also preclude any template, blast, or large blast weapons, however, they also disallow any "shooting attack that does not need to roll or automatically hits"

So if the masque's ability counts as a shooting attack it wont work on Swooping models. If it's just an aura or some non-shooting special power it should be ok.

Offline Chicop76

  • Shas'El
  • *******
  • Posts: 3532
  • Karma 12
  • pp
    • View Profile
Re: Masque Question?
« Reply #9 on: June 12, 2013, 12:51:24 PM »
"Shots resolved at such a target can only be resolved as Snap Shots unless the model or weapon has Skyfire special rule. Template, Blast, and Large Blast weapons cannot hit Swooping models."

Of note Snap Shots also preclude any template, blast, or large blast weapons, however, they also disallow any "shooting attack that does not need to roll or automatically hits"

So if the masque's ability counts as a shooting attack it wont work on Swooping models. If it's just an aura or some non-shooting special power it should be ok.

Thanks. That clears up a lot.

If it was shooting she would need a 6 to hit. Anyway it is an automatic power and wouldn't work, but would work if the MC is grounded.

 

Offline Arguleon-veq

  • Retired Mod
  • *
  • Posts: 4809
  • Karma 64
    • View Profile
Re: Masque Question?
« Reply #10 on: June 12, 2013, 04:10:55 PM »
Yeah its a very annoying ruling, it also took away Space Wolves one half decent answer to flyers [Njal Stormcaller].
X-Wing Tournaments;
1st - 38
11th - 33