Author Topic: 6th Edition WTFs?  (Read 30363 times)

Offline BigToof

  • Battlefield Journalist
  • Board Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 1469
  • Karma 27
  • Mayhem, Carnage and Laffs.
    • View Profile
6th Edition WTFs?
« on: July 02, 2012, 09:22:40 PM »
Dear All,
Someone had to start this thread I suppose.
Sixth has a lot of new changes, and although the rules are good, there are issues with... interpretation.
This thread is for Q&A for people who need help with basic 6th Ed. issues.

I've played a few games, and now, I've got questions.
Answers would be helpful :)

1.  Can you assault from a non-assault transport?  (i.e. something that is not open-topped or assault ramp carrier)
- I've been looking through the book, but it seems to indicate that even if the vehicle was STANDING still, you cannot get out and assault.  If this is true well... it's a harsh kind of thing to try and get in on people now...

2.  Who can operate fortification weapons?
- There's not much of a note for them, but can my BS5 Klaivex (or my BS7 Archon) use the Quad-Gun if he feels like it?  If so, that's really... awesome and potentially abusable.

3.  At what phase do you use the non-shooting psychic powers?
Is it like with Eldar where you can only use them at the start of the turn or is it at any point during the turn?

Thanks all!

Best,
-BT
BigToof Points:

Cammerz: 8
Waaaghpower: 1
The Man They Call Jayne: 3
Mabbz: 6
Archon Sharrek: 3

Offline Scout Sergeant Mkoll

  • The TO Footslogger
  • Shas'Vre
  • ******
  • Posts: 2107
  • Karma 14
  • I got bored, I stole a hat, I got drunk. :P
    • View Profile
Re: 6th Edition WTFs?
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2012, 10:58:24 PM »
Well, I've only had a quick look through a friend's copy but I can answer question 1 for you. It seems that you can not assault from a vehicle without the Assault Vehicle rule, regardless of how far it has moved. However, it also seems to be the case that you can move 6" after disembarking, even if the vehicle moved 12".

Which leads me to my question: If an assault vehicle moves 12" and the squad disembarks, can the unit then charge?
Mkoll's Awesome Card Counter: +8

May the brave be remembered forever. Farewell our friends.

Mkoll wins.

Quote from: LordDemon
Just because I'm paranoid doesn't mean they're not out to catch you.

[img]http

Offline Cammerz

  • Shas'Vre
  • ******
  • Posts: 1213
  • Karma 10
    • View Profile
Re: 6th Edition WTFs?
« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2012, 11:02:21 PM »
Well I can definitely answer the first two.

Page 79 - Disembarking Restrictions, it specifically states that the unit cannot declare a charge in the subsequent phase. But at least you can from open-topped transports ie. basically everything Orks and Dark Eldar have so you won't have it too badly BT.

For the second one;

Page 105 - Gun Emplacement, it says that a model in base contact fires it instead of one of its own weapons, plus the statline does not include a BS stat so it can't fire on its own.

Not sure about the last one, I don't suppose it says in the codex does it? That would have priority anyway.



EDIT: and for you Russ, Page 79 - Disembarking, a unit cannot disembark if the vehicle moved more than 6"
Ahh Cammerz has typed himself into oblivion! :o Someone get him back xD

Offline Scout Sergeant Mkoll

  • The TO Footslogger
  • Shas'Vre
  • ******
  • Posts: 2107
  • Karma 14
  • I got bored, I stole a hat, I got drunk. :P
    • View Profile
Re: 6th Edition WTFs?
« Reply #3 on: July 02, 2012, 11:09:43 PM »
EDIT: and for you Russ, Page 79 - Disembarking, a unit cannot disembark if the vehicle moved more than 6"
No exceptions for fast vehicles then? That's interesting. That's very interesting.
Mkoll's Awesome Card Counter: +8

May the brave be remembered forever. Farewell our friends.

Mkoll wins.

Quote from: LordDemon
Just because I'm paranoid doesn't mean they're not out to catch you.

[img]http

Offline Cammerz

  • Shas'Vre
  • ******
  • Posts: 1213
  • Karma 10
    • View Profile
Re: 6th Edition WTFs?
« Reply #4 on: July 02, 2012, 11:17:35 PM »
Ah BT, I may have just found the answer to your third question too.

Page 68 - Types of Psychic Powers

As long as you know what type of power it is then it'll tell you when you use it. It also says that if it doesn't mention a type then the rules for using it will clearly be visible in the entry for said power.
Ahh Cammerz has typed himself into oblivion! :o Someone get him back xD

Offline BigToof

  • Battlefield Journalist
  • Board Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 1469
  • Karma 27
  • Mayhem, Carnage and Laffs.
    • View Profile
Re: 6th Edition WTFs?
« Reply #5 on: July 03, 2012, 03:22:45 PM »
Thanks Cammerz.

Have you tried sixth yet?

Anything you've found as odd?

Best,
-BT
BigToof Points:

Cammerz: 8
Waaaghpower: 1
The Man They Call Jayne: 3
Mabbz: 6
Archon Sharrek: 3

Offline Cammerz

  • Shas'Vre
  • ******
  • Posts: 1213
  • Karma 10
    • View Profile
Re: 6th Edition WTFs?
« Reply #6 on: July 03, 2012, 04:40:11 PM »
I haven't had a game yet, I'm home from uni for the summer so I don't have much of an opportunity. I'll see if I can remedy that but in the mean time I'll just find the answers to questions that other people have about 6th.
Ahh Cammerz has typed himself into oblivion! :o Someone get him back xD

Offline Eagle eye

  • Kroot Shaper
  • **
  • Posts: 67
  • Karma 0
    • View Profile
Re: 6th Edition WTFs?
« Reply #7 on: July 04, 2012, 02:33:29 PM »
I love the psycick disiplines (just wanted to put that out there> a little random)

Offline crisis_vyper

  • Shas'O
  • ********
  • Posts: 7402
  • Karma 44
  • The passion within ignites ever so brightly....
    • View Profile
    • The Torturer's Tale
Re: 6th Edition WTFs?
« Reply #8 on: July 04, 2012, 07:20:09 PM »
For me the WTF would be the 'Look Out sir!' and Ork Nobs biker squads. Apparently they can bromance each other really hard. They are coming back in force.

Oh and the doubling of FOC when you reach 2k.

Offline InsaneTD

  • Insanest of all
  • Shas'Vre
  • ******
  • Posts: 1162
  • Karma 3
  • Black Wolf
    • View Profile
    • I did a thing...
Re: 6th Edition WTFs?
« Reply #9 on: July 05, 2012, 05:53:40 AM »
Being able to double FOC was in fourth. Just no one used it so it's odd it's made a come back. I remember playing with it a bit for my tau for a while.

Offline Unusual Suspect

  • Shas'Vre
  • ******
  • Posts: 1129
  • Karma 5
  • You taste like chicken. Ironic, no?
    • View Profile
Re: 6th Edition WTFs?
« Reply #10 on: July 07, 2012, 04:52:15 AM »
Just got my rulebook this evening, and I'm slowly going through it.

One thing that just popped out to me was the RAW for the Specialist Weapon USR.  Though the fluff mentions that weapons need to be wielded in pairs to reach their full potential, the actual rules only require that both weapons have the Specialist Weapon USR to gain an extra attack.  This implies a Power Fist and Lightning Claw wielding model could gain +1 to his attacks with whichever weapon he chooses to use.

Aside from the obvious RAI, am I missing something?
I you private dancer.

Offline manic-swede

  • Shas'La
  • ****
  • Posts: 405
  • Karma 1
    • View Profile
Re: 6th Edition WTFs?
« Reply #11 on: July 09, 2012, 11:30:38 PM »
I think the major WTF for me comes with the layout of the book.
Im not a big fan with how the rules are set out, finding it difficult to find what i want without having to look in the index all the time.

By this i mean the rulebook don't lead you through the game.

Offline Chicop76

  • Shas'El
  • *******
  • Posts: 3532
  • Karma 12
  • pp
    • View Profile
Re: 6th Edition WTFs?
« Reply #12 on: July 10, 2012, 12:06:26 AM »
I was just reading some of the 6th edition codex, and was wondering how some things work, etc.

Over watch brings up some questions:

1. Will twin-linked weapons work with over watch.
2. Eldar fortune on a group of guardians would it work on that.

I also noticed that armies like Daemons received a big buff:

1. Now flying monstrous creature will only be hit on a 6. My question can you deep strike in and receive that bonus. If so Fate weaver would be really good since you can't assault and it can just fly around shooting every one.

2. Now some creatures can double their strength and instant kill when need be.

3. Leadership checks while the enemy is still engaged.

I think the biggest hit is toward land raiders. Now with 4 hull points if I glance it 4 times it is wreaked if I get that right.

Another big hit is power weapons. It was one of the ways you can bring down terminators. Now +2 Armour is much stronger in melee. Honestly I think melee has been weaken over all anyway.

I think a big plus is that plasma weapons are more deadlier against tanks. Also with over watch it seems plasma weapons or much better. With Tau in mind I have to re look at marker lights since you might make your bs 1 into bs 5 with plasma suits. I'm not sure it's durable or not. If so marker lighting a squad that can charge you would be an awesome ideal where you get an extra barrage of free hits.

The lay out of the book seems hard to follow, but so far if you read one rule than it is assumed you know it. Example is deep striking, instead of saying 2d6 it says scatter. If you look up scatter it is described as a 2d6 roll. The way it's structured you have to look up the meaning of the terms to understand the rules.

 

Offline The Man They Call Jayne

  • Shas'O
  • ********
  • Posts: 5289
  • Karma 6
    • View Profile
Re: 6th Edition WTFs?
« Reply #13 on: July 10, 2012, 06:44:25 AM »
I think it is stated that you cannot use Markerlights in Overwatch. As for twinlinked, as far as I know it does work as it is a rule that that weapon/unit has.
Jaynes Awesome Card Counter: +5

Secondspheres Crash Card Counter +4



Offline Unusual Suspect

  • Shas'Vre
  • ******
  • Posts: 1129
  • Karma 5
  • You taste like chicken. Ironic, no?
    • View Profile
Re: 6th Edition WTFs?
« Reply #14 on: July 10, 2012, 03:00:17 PM »
Markerlights, as far as I can tell, cannot shoot Seekers as part of an Overwatch, nor can they effectively boost the BS of Overwatch shooting (due to the way characteristic variables interact).  That still leaves Networked Markerlights the ability to reduce Cover saves and decrease leadership tests for Pinning.
I you private dancer.

 

anything