Author Topic: 2S will be moving server (again)  (Read 4927 times)

Offline The Architect of Change (FT)

  • Tzeentch has nothing on me!
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 13616
  • Karma 91
  • Changing the way things work is my business
    • View Profile
    • Grim Darkness.net
2S will be moving server (again)
« on: July 19, 2012, 05:36:39 PM »
Now that I've managed to secure full time work, I've decided to plump for a faster, more spacious server myself (which I will also be hosting my other websites like GD.net).

Now to give you an idea of the figures we're talking about (with specs on the old server to offer a comparison)...

Old server
CPU: 1.5 GHZ
RAM: 1GB ("burstable" to 2GB)
HDD: 50GB
Bandwidth: 1000GB/month

New Server
CPU: 4GH
RAM: 4GB
HD: 250GB
Bandwidth: 4000GB/month

Note that the server will also be serving my other websites too, as just as heads up.

Offline Wild

  • Shas'Ui
  • *****
  • Posts: 668
  • Karma 1
    • View Profile
Re: 2S will be moving server (again)
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2012, 06:38:11 PM »
Oh god the server is moving, everything is going to break again!  Get your crazy hats and pamphlets screaming "The end is nigh!"

Offline Sorck

  • BBCode glows...
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3538
  • Karma 18
  • Kernel Sorck
    • View Profile
Re: 2S will be moving server (again)
« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2012, 06:51:52 PM »
Not that hosting other sites is that rare on the 2S server. Our initial server was a VPS that hosted a few things on it, we then moved to our 'old' server which again hosted a few sites on it. The latest server will again be hosting a few sites on it. So far this hasn't broken anything. :P

4TB bandwidth. Would be nice if we were going to get close to using it all. :P

Oh god the server is moving, everything is going to break again!  Get your crazy hats and pamphlets screaming "The end is nigh!"
Don't worry, as long as FT remembers to transfer the archive over first and then copy over to the forum files/other stuff over to the new server under the same username as we currently use. Then setup the 'old' copy of the forums to remote MySQL the new server and then change the DNS settings on our domain name then we'll be fine. :P

Offline The Architect of Change (FT)

  • Tzeentch has nothing on me!
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 13616
  • Karma 91
  • Changing the way things work is my business
    • View Profile
    • Grim Darkness.net
Re: 2S will be moving server (again)
« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2012, 08:38:55 PM »
Don't worry, as long as FT remembers to transfer the archive over first and then copy over to the forum files/other stuff over to the new server under the same username as we currently use. Then setup the 'old' copy of the forums to remote MySQL the new server and then change the DNS settings on our domain name then we'll be fine. :P
Your all doomed then....

Offline InsaneTD

  • Insanest of all
  • Shas'Vre
  • ******
  • Posts: 1162
  • Karma 3
  • Black Wolf
    • View Profile
    • I did a thing...
Re: 2S will be moving server (again)
« Reply #4 on: July 20, 2012, 01:10:02 AM »
* Tybalt Defet finds a soap box and stands on it...
"THE END OF THE GALAXY IS COMING!!!! WE'RE ALL DOOMED!!!!"

:P

Congrats on the Job FT and thank you for upgrading the server. Any idea when this will be happening?

Offline Restayvien

  • Pirate Prince
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 9276
  • Karma 38
    • View Profile
    • Battlefleet Fury
Re: 2S will be moving server (again)
« Reply #5 on: July 20, 2012, 08:24:35 AM »
So...is it 4GB, or TB?  :shifty:

Offline Sorck

  • BBCode glows...
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3538
  • Karma 18
  • Kernel Sorck
    • View Profile
Re: 2S will be moving server (again)
« Reply #6 on: July 20, 2012, 10:13:47 AM »
* Tybalt Defet finds a soap box and stands on it...
"THE END OF THE GALAXY IS COMING!!!! WE'RE ALL DOOMED!!!!"

:P

Congrats on the Job FT and thank you for upgrading the server. Any idea when this will be happening?
It's on order at the moment.

I don't know what the timeframe will be like but servers are generally available in a matter of days (or sometimes even hours). We'll then need to copy across the archive. Do some reconfiguring of Apache. Re-upload the rest of the database. Then it's a bit of file transferring (might as well do that the easy way...)

So...is it 4GB, or TB?  :shifty:
4GB RAM
4TB Bandwidth

 

anything