News:

Cammerz brings us some fantastically painted and customised Alpha Legion. Check out their work with detail shots and design insight.

Main Menu

The Virtues of a Daemon Engine (CSM)

Started by Fhanados, January 22, 2013, 01:04:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Fhanados

Hi guys,

I've been toying around with an army list that essentially just contains walkers. While I have extensive experience with dreadnaughts of one variety or another (I sometimes play 2-3 in my SM army and 1-2 in my CSM) I have never used any of the other Chaos walkers, new or old. After staring at my codex for what seems like forever I've come to form an opinion on our walkers, but I'd like to hear what you all think too!

The Hellbrute
Technically not a Daemon Engine but the DV model is pretty much what I envision a proper Daemon Engine to look like - fleshy mechanical warp twisted death machine. It's a unit I both love and hate. It never performs how I want it to but usually does something useful before biting the dust.
Pros

• Cheap base cost. Running a bunch of stock 'brutes won't cost you too much.
  • Decent standard loadout. Multimelta and power fist make it pretty good close range anti-armour.
  • Crazed! Although it's pretty rare to actually get crazed you no longer slaughter your own troops en-masse at the drop of a hat.
  • Power Scourge! I love this thing :). Thunder hammer is kind of cool but really I see no reason to take it when the power fist is stock.
  • Plasma Cannon
  • Makes a good interference unit. Throw it in combat with something that can't hurt it, or will struggle to glance and you can cause some real headaches.
Cons

• Very few options when compared to Loyalist dreads. This actually annoys me a lot. We have the opportunity to have a unique unit that both ties us in as Space Marines yet separates us from our Loyalist equivalents at the same time. Why no daemonic possession? Vehicle marks would be fun too but that's another ball game.