News:

Cammerz brings us some fantastically painted and customised Alpha Legion. Check out their work with detail shots and design insight.

Main Menu

Cadian Olive Drab uniform test scheme... need opinions, criticisms, improvements

Started by Stewie Griffin, November 01, 2012, 04:01:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Stewie Griffin

Hi everyone,

Basically for a while now I've been planning on re-painting my Cadians to have another go at painting their uniforms, changing my colour scheme from the standard GW scheme to a more ww2 styled olive drab colour instead.

This is my first attempt at doing it - more specifically on the fatigues - for the flak armour I've kept my old method, because it's relatively quick and easy, though I may change that also (please also ignore the flesh - yes I know it looks klkn, I have done, and can do, flesh much better than that, what I did here was just a quick test to see if a new method of doing it worked well - evidently, it did not...).

The method I used for the fatigues (since that's mostly the bit I'm interested in at the moment, since they're the bits which are going to be the olive drab colour) is as follows:-

1) Base it with Death World Forest Green (which annoyingly takes 2 coats to go onto a black undercoat properly...)

2) Over that put a layer of Elysian green, leaving DWFG in the recesses

3) Wash everything with Athonian Camoshade wash ink to tone it all down

So yeah, what do we think of it? How does it look to you? Good? Bad? Ugly? Boring even? (with the green flak armour - though I myself don't mind it like that since the colours are different)