News:

Cammerz brings us some fantastically painted and customised Alpha Legion. Check out their work with detail shots and design insight.

Main Menu

How to highlight Black

Started by Chris, January 21, 2013, 11:13:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Chris

Hey guys!
So I have about 45 Black Templar Terminators sat on my window sill waiting to be finished off. I just need to highlight them, but Don't really know since I have very little experience at Highlighting and very few available paints.

So I have, Celestra Grey, Abbadon Black, Ceramite White, Drake Tooth Blue wash and Black Wash....

Like I said, very little paints and no opportunity to get any more any time soon... What should i do with these?
Please keep any advice very simple!

Tom

With the paints you have the most simple method I can think of would be a ~1:1 mix of Celestra Grey (used to be called Astronomican) and Abaddon Black (Chaos Black) and to use that as an extreme edge highlight only.

I understand this might not be too helpful because you have limited paints at your disposal but this is what I'd do if I had 45 Terminators I wanted black:
- Black Basecoat
- Drybrush 1:1 Codex Grey to Chaos Black
- Heavy Wash with Badab black
- Highlight 1:1 Codex Grey to Chaos Black
- Extreme Highlight Codex Grey
That's quick, doesn't end up looking grey and does give definition to black surfaces that can sometimes look flat.

As Astronomican is lighter than Codex grey I think you'd do best to darken it as I suggested. And as you say you're already in the highlighting stage I thought just the one step would be best.

crisis_vyper

Quote from: Tom on January 22, 2013, 03:05:19 AM
With the paints you have the most simple method I can think of would be a ~1:1 mix of Celestra Grey (used to be called Astronomican) and Abaddon Black (Chaos Black) and to use that as an extreme edge highlight only.